PACIFICHEM2015 Announcement

PACIFICHEM2015 Announcement

Call for submission

Pacifichem 2015

Chemical Networking:
Building Bridges Across the Pacific

January 1 – April 3 | Call for Abstracts
February 2 | Housing Opens
June 25 | Early Registration

Nuclear Probes in Nanoscale Characterization (Symposium ID 254) Oral session:02.254 1A–3E: Wednesday, December 16 (Hilton Hawaiian Village) Poster session: evening December 16 (Hawaii Convention Center)

Characterization of structures and functions at the nano- and subnano-level in materials is critically important to widespread physical and chemical research topics, ranging from fundamental studies in physics, chemistry, biological- and geo-sciences to industrial and material sciences. The ability of nuclear probes to detect and interrogate atoms and molecules offers not only scientific elucidation of structure property relationships but also data acquisition that may someday soon be utilised in a way similar to the tricorder. Nuclear chemical methods including Mössbauer spectroscopy (MS), nuclear inelastic scattering (NIS), nuclear quadrupole resonance (NQR), positron annihilation lifetime (PAL), muon spin resonance (μSR) spectroscopy, and perturbed angular correlation (PAC) have been applied to such research. The developments in nuclear chemical methods and their applied results will be discussed across the range of disciplines aiming at the interchange of ideas between different research fields.

Invited Speakers
Prof.Ho Bum Park (Hanyang Univ., Korea)
Prof. Franz Renz (Leibniz Univ. Hannover, Germany)
Prof. V. K. Garg (The Univ. of Brasilia, Brazil)
Prof. Kazuhiko NInomiya (Osaka Univ., Japan)
Prof. Paul A. Lindahl (Texas A&M Univ., USA)

Abstracts may be submitted through the online submission system: The abstract submission deadline is April 3rd, 2015.

Session Organizers
Masashi Takahashi, Toho University (Japan)
Anita Hill, CSIRO (Australia)
Virender K. Sharma, Florida Institute of Technology (USA)
Junhu Wang, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics (China)
Kiyoshi Nomura, The University of Tokyo (Japan)
Yasuhiro Yamada, Department of Science, Tokyo University of Science (Japan)